400 Park Place Drive,
Check out our clean, comfy rooms and great rates.
We make it easy to earn cash with every stay.
Enjoy business travel made simple and affordable.
When we arrived Friday night everything seemed fine. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. However, I have three kids, 2 of them are quite young. And they wanted to swim. We had arrived...
When we arrived Friday night everything seemed fine. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. However, I have three kids, 2 of them are quite young. And they wanted to swim. We had arrived at around 8PM, so they had a couple of hours left to swim. But the pool was crowded with an entire hockey team of about 12 year old boys. We waited and waited and they finally left the pool room at around 9:30. So we brought our kids down to swim. We were met in the hallway by a very crabby woman (hotel employee) who informed us that all children must be in their rooms by 10PM and no later. So I was only able to let my kids swim for 15 minutes and then I brought them up to bed. All of this would only have been an minor annoyance if it had not been for the following night. Saturday night was absolutely unbearable. We did not sleep at all. The hockey team was back, and this time there was no 9:30 bed time. The parents were in the lobby very loudly boozing it up until somewhere around 2AM and the kids were running through the hallways and shouting loudly the entire night. We called down to the front desk multiple times with only limited success. Things would get quiet for a maybe 5 minutes and then pick back up again. We had planned to get up early and be ready to check out in time for the kids to swim again, but because we were all kept so late that we overslept and barely got out in time. We asked to have a late check out so that the kids could swim, but we were told no, we would have to check out at 11 and if we wanted to use the pool we would have to pay 5 dollars per person extra.
One word describes what we thought of this hotel “RUDE STAFF”! We will NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!
We were a hockey group staying there. Only there about 1 hr before we got yelled at. Seriously...
One word describes what we thought of this hotel “RUDE STAFF”! We will NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!
We were a hockey group staying there. Only there about 1 hr before we got yelled at. Seriously?
Let’s recap some of the issues and instances of our weekend here:
- Dirty Bathroom.
- Parent brought in food without realizing it was not allowed to pool area. He just did not see the sign. It was just a bag of sausage, But instead of politely asking us to take the food to another area the General Manager very aggressively and rudely yelled at us. She simply could have said please take that outside. There was no reason to attack the group as she did! VERY UNPROFESSIONAL
- At 10pm they want no kids in halls. Really? I get the running part but we were getting yelled at all weekend for kids just walking from one room to the other. They fell asleep in one room we woke them up told them to go to their room and the front desk lade chewed the kids out. When a parent told her that was not necessary she told him he better watch out or her will be sleeping in his car. Hmm, yep that is a great way to treat your customers.. or wait were we their prisoners?
- And then this GM would walk the halls listening outside of each door. I am sorry anyone stopping to put their ear to a door should be fired. That is creepy and quite simply an invasion of the guest’s privacy! I will be call corporate AmericInn about this one. As well as the other team is also calling. Not OK!
- We were told by another team checking in the next day that they were bad mouthing our team at the front desk at check in. WOW that was not necessary!
- They have a small lobby with TV that the guys were watching a game and would get loud, and of course they would get yelled at again agressively. I agree, tone it down when asked which they did . So the next morning when a few of us got lectured again by this GM I was just done! We called many hotels to try to move the team but all were booked in a 35mile radius. We would have moved too this place is not customer friendly at all!!!
- The other team there was more upset then we were on how they were treated Sat. Did not think that was possible
- A good note was how nice the young man working there was from the 3 – 10 shift he was politely trying to accommodate the groups. When he mentioned that the hotel GM is that way due to a hockey team a few years back I could only respond with "yes I understand that could happen but that does not give the hotel the right to treat us bad just because we are a “hockey” team"
- they have a map there with buttons for the destinations in town, you push the button and it lights it up on the map. We had a MOM there looking at the map and pushed one button on it and the front desk person pretty much told her to stop playing with it. She is a MOM not a child she was not playing with it she wanted to see where to go. They really need to chill out here.
- Cold coffee at 8am.
- NO elevators at all
This town is small and needs the tourism from hockey tournaments but we will not be back to this hockey tournament again and the hockey association can thank the AmericInn for that! They not only lost a lot of future business for themselves they made others in this town lose future business.
If you are a team coming in to Moose Lake do not stay here. Yes its close to the rink but the service you get is horrible. I would rather drive an extra 20 mins than deal with this hotel again!
Now I am on to give a great review to Gampers Restaurant in Moose Lake. They were awesome!!
Hello. I am sorry that the large group rules interfered with your party plans. However the rules were explained at the time the block was made and each guest received a copy as they checked in. These rules are designed to offer a clean, quite, restful night for all of our guests. As for no food in the pool area, That is pretty standard in almost any hotel. And there are signs both on the front door and in the pool area. We Work hard to honor all of our guests hockey group or not.
Thank you for your comments. And good luck to your team.
We stayed here as a team for our out of town hockey tournament. Beginning with check-in the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect considering we were traveling...
We stayed here as a team for our out of town hockey tournament. Beginning with check-in the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect considering we were traveling back and forth from Cloquet. The hotel is right off the interstate so it made it easy to get there and back. The rooms were clean and the hospitality room was more than perfect for our team gathering! Breakfast was great! They had a different "hot" item each day. We will definitely stay there again when traveling up "north"!
Thank you so much for the kind words. We try hard to make our large groups feel welcome. As well as all our guests. The larger groups can be challenging but we work hard to maintain a clean, quiet, friendly place for everyone to find a restful night at the" End Of Your Day".
I do hope to see you the next time you are in our area. And good luck to your hockey team.
We spent 2 nights at the Moose Lake Americinn this week. Very close to the interstate so easy to get to. It is a few miles to town to find places to eat but choices were good. Standard hotel and...
We spent 2 nights at the Moose Lake Americinn this week. Very close to the interstate so easy to get to. It is a few miles to town to find places to eat but choices were good. Standard hotel and rooms, but everything was clean. Good variety of breakfast items (different each day). Nice pool area for kids.
Hello. I am so happy to read your review. It sounds like you had a very pleasent stay and that is exactly what we want for each of our guests. Thank you so much for your comments. And I hope to see you on your next trip to our area.
I recently stayed at the americ inn in moose lake mn and did run into a few minor issues with only one staff member who you could tell didnt care for her job. But let me say that eveeyone else that...
I recently stayed at the americ inn in moose lake mn and did run into a few minor issues with only one staff member who you could tell didnt care for her job. But let me say that eveeyone else that worked there Was very pleasent and friendly. I called the manager and let her know of the issue of this girl on her staff because i thought she should know As i Was Not the only one to notice the one girl Not doing to well on her job, however the manager Was so kind and let us use a conferance room for a dbl bday party We has going on just after thanks giving. When i called to just let her know that she should maybe chat with the young girl on staff she offered a great discount to stay again. WOW i wasnt expecting that. And What a great help since We go there for hunting and live hour and half away. The manager and the rest of the team she has employed were so nice and chatted like old friends. Dont let one persons actions ruin your trip to such a nice warm place. And ps to the manager, i hope u make it home to texas for xmas. Thanks again. Cher n jeff rogers.
Thank you so much for all the kind words. We do have problems occassionally but we also do try to make them right for our guests. I am glad that I was able to do that for you.
Don't forget to come see us on your next visit to this area.
©2003-2013 AmericInn International, LLC